Exhibition – Piece’d – Block’d

30 Contemporary Quilts From Once-Blocked and Still-Blocked Nations

The Corea Quilt Associates and the Patchwork Gilde Deutschland e.V. have agreed on a joint exhibition with the theme “Blocks” in summer 2018. It wasn’t only about quilt blocks, as one might assume with quilters, but also about political blocks, since Korea is still a country divided by political blocks, while Germany suffered this division, but has overcome it since 1990.

On the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, we want to present an exhibition that focuses on these political blocs. Partly with modern quilts, partly with traditional works. In any case, the personal emotions and experiences of division, of attempts at rapprochement, of ceasefire agreements, of reunification, of the Singapore summit, of post-reunification problems, and of the wounds that division has left on some, should be presented in the works.

From South Korea and Germany, 15 leading quilters were each invited to implement this political theme in textiles. The aim is to put together a top-class exhibition that takes a stand on the history of Germany and at the same time draws attention to the situation in Korea.
The quilts of the German artists are 90×90 cm large (following 1990, the year of reunification), those from Korea are between 80×80 cm and 120×120 cm large, because the year of reunification has not yet been determined.

The Artists

From Korea

Miyoung Kwon, Kyung Joo Kim, Jungmi Kim, Hyuna Kim, Hye Sook Kim, Young Park, Sung Hye Byun, Jae Ran Song, Kayoung Ahn, Song Eun An, Jae Young Eom, Young Sil Oh, Hung Sook Jang, Eun Young Choi, Mi Kyung Hyun

From Germany

Claudia Pfeil, Uta Lenk, Annemarie Zoller-Sicker, Urte Hanke, Monika Flake, Britta Ankenbauer, Erica Waaser, Gabriele Bach, Erika Beetz, Heidi Drahota, Elke Klein, Christine Bünning, Gabriele Fischer, Karin Fürer, Annette Tatchen

The image rights are with the individual artists, images used by kind permission.

Ausstellung: Piece’d – Block’d

30 Zeitgenössische Quilts aus früher geteilten und noch geteilten Nationen

Die Corea Quilt Associates und die Patchwork Gilde Deutschland e.V. haben im Sommer 2018 eine Gemeinschaftsausstellung mit dem Thema „Blöcke“ vereinbart. Es ging nicht, wie man bei Quilterinnen vermuten könnte, nur um Quiltblöcke, sondern auch um politische Blöcke, nachdem Korea immer noch ein durch politische Blöcke geteiltes Land ist, während Deutschland diese Teilung zwar auch erlitten, sie aber seit 1990 überwunden hat.

Zum 30. Jubiläum des Mauerfalls wollen wir eine Ausstellung präsentieren, die diese politischen Blöcke thematisiert. Teils mit modernen Quilts, teils mit traditionellen Arbeiten. In jedem Fall sollte die persönlichen Emotionen und Erfahrungen zur Teilung,  zu den Annäherungsversuchen, den Waffenstillstandsvereinbarungen, zur Wiedervereinigung, dem Gipfeltreffen in Singapur, Probleme nach der Wiedervereinigung und die Wunden, die die Teilung bei manchen hinterlassen hat, in den Arbeiten dargestellt werden.

Aus Südkorea und Deutschland wurden jeweils 15 führende Quilterinnen eingeladen, dieses politische Thema textil umzusetzen. Ziel ist es, eine hochkarätige Ausstellung zusammenzustellen, die Stellung bezieht zur Geschichte von Deutschland und zugleich aufmerksam macht auf die Situation in Korea.
Die Quilts der deutschen Künstlerinnen sind 90×90 cm groß (in Anlehnung an 1990, das Jahr der Wiedervereinigung), die aus Korea sind zwischen 80×80 cm und 120×120 cm groß, weil das Jahr der Wiedervereinigung noch nicht feststeht.

Die Künstlerinnen

Aus Korea

Miyoung Kwon, Kyung Joo Kim, Jungmi Kim, Hyuna Kim, Hye Sook Kim, Young Park, Sung Hye Byun, Jae Ran Song, Kayoung Ahn, Song Eun An, Jae Young Eom, Young Sil Oh, Hung Sook Jang, Eun Young Choi, Mi Kyung Hyun

Aus Deutschland

Claudia Pfeil, Uta Lenk, Annemarie Zoller-Sicker, Urte Hanke, Monika Flake, Britta Ankenbauer, Erica Waaser, Gabriele Bach, Erika Beetz, Heidi Drahota, Elke Klein, Christine Bünning, Gabriele Fischer, Karin Fürer, Annette Tatchen

Die Bildrechte liegen bei den jeweiligen KünstlerInnen, Verwendung mit freundlicher Genehmigung.